A forum for all of those open to balancing their Chakras, enhancing their yoga practice and ensuring optimum holistic health


Leading Chakra Workshops came out of my work doing Yoga Health Retreats in Hawaii, starting 10 years ago. At the end of every yoga class, we would finish with a chakra meditation. Often, after class, my students would want to discuss specific problems in their lives that were clearly related to one chakra or another. So, in addition to using chakra meditations in my yoga classes, I decided to try 8-week chakra workshops for local students. Each week, we would focus on balancing one of the chakras, starting with the root chakra, using guided visualizations, yoga poses, toning, color therapy and crystal healing. The final week would be an integrative, sharing session.

During the last year I have concentrated not on teaching, but on my writing, both as a novelist with The Chakra Diaries and as a journalist on holistic health issues. The best part about my yoga practice is that it gives me a reservoir of calm and strength from which to face the tight deadlines and stresses of my day. I have been known to walk away from my computer to do yoga poses to stretch and relax, and usually my coworkers follow me to join in. Once, during a long plane ride, while waiting in a never-ending line for the rest room, I began doing a few standing poses. The two businessmen behind me asked what I was doing and if I could show them how to do the poses also. It turned into an informal yoga class in the aisle of United Airlines. In teaching, whether in a formal class or a funny moment like on the plane, I love sharing what I have learned. I believe we’re all wounded healers on this earth, here to help each other.
To read the entire interview click here.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

